Resources

 


A

ADHD

ADHD Solutions, Attention Problems – Games for Life, Non-Medical Solutions for Education, Health and Peak Performance; www.gamesforlife.co.uk

Hyperactive Children's Support Group; Tel: 01243 539966; email hacsg@hacsg.org.uk ; www.hacsg.org.uk

Netdocotor.co.uk; www.netdoctor.co.uk/ate/childrenshealth

 

ADDISS

Attention Disorder Information and Support Service; Tel: 020 8952 2800; email info@addiss.co.uk ; www.addiss.co.uk

 


B

Boarding   

Boarding Schools' Association; Tel: 020 7798 1580; www.boarding.org.uk

Boarding Schools Directory; www.boardingschools.co.uk

Boarding School UK; www.boarding-school.org

Guide to Boarding Schools in the UK; www.darch.co.uk

Independent Schools Council; 020 7766 7070; www.isc.co.uk

Independent boarding school search; www.schoolmatcher.co.uk

ISC Census; www.isc.co.uk/publication_8_0_0_11_351.htm

 

Bullying     

Association of Teachers and Lecturers (ATL); www.atl.org.uk

BullyingUK; www.bullying.co.uk

Beat Bullying; www.beatbullying.org.uk

Education Action Challenging Homophobia (EACH); www.eachaction.org.uk

School Report; www.stonewall.org.uk/schoolreport

Stonewall; www.stonewall.org.uk

Stowe’s Handbook for Parents; www.stowe.co.uk/School-Policies.aspx

TeacherNet; www.teachernet.gov.uk

Tutorhunt.com; www.tutorhunt.com

 

Bursaries

ISBA; www.theisba.org.uk/

 


C

Care and Support

BBC News | Education | Credit crunch warning for schools; http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/7814198.stm

BBC News | Education | Credit crunch bites schools; http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/7730427.stm

BBC News | Business | Schools count cost of credit crunch; http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/business/7631589.stm

Credit crunch hits private schools: students shown the door as parents fail to pay | Mail Online; www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1084650/Credit-crunch-hits-private-schools-Students-shown-door-parents-fail-pay.html

National Association for Pastoral Care in Education; www.napce.org.uk

Private schools “seeing the effects” of the credit crunch – school industry news from SFS Group; www.sfs-group.co.uk/news-industry-18813180-private_schools_seeing_the_effects_of_the_credit_crunch.htm

Pastoral care and Student Support – A Private Education (UK); www.aprivateeducation.co.uk/pastoral-care-student-support.html

 

Careers

Inspiring Futures Foundation; www.inspiringfutures.org.uk

Independent Schools Careers Service Organisation (ISCO); www.isco.org.uk

 


D

Drug use

Adfam: Family Drug Support; 020 7553 7640; www.adfam.org.uk

Comparerehab – Drugs & Alcohol; www.comparerehab.co.uk/drugs

FRANK; 0800 776600; www.talktofrank.com/home_html.aspx

No. 11 – treatment relating to alcohol, drugs, eating disorders and other addictions www.no11clinic.com

The Mentor Foundation; 01509 221622; www.mentorfoundation.org

 

Dyslexia

British Dyslexia Association; Helpline: 0845 251 9002; www.bdadyslexia.org.uk

Dyslexia Action; Head Office Tel: 01784 222300; www.dyslexiaaction.org.uk ; email info@dyslexiaaction.org.uk

Patoss – Private Dyslexia Tuition: Information for Parents; www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/extra316.html

Private School and Dyslexia Support; www.beingdyslexic.co.uk

Private Dyslexia Tuition; www.bdadyslexia.org.uk/extra316.html

Specialist schools: Dyslexia

The GOW School; www.gow.org

Moon Hall School for Dyslexic Children; www.moonhall.surrey.sch.uk

 

Deafness

Funding for Independent School for Deafness; www.fundingcaring.co.uk/funding-for-independent-school-due-deafness.html

Hamilton Lodge School for deaf children in Brighton; http://hamiltonlodgeschool.co.uk

Northern Counties Schools – Percy Hedley Foundation; www.percyhedley.org.uk/ncs/index.asp

Royal School for deaf children, Margate and Westgate College; http://www.isbi.com/isbi-viewschool/3048-Royal_School_for_Deaf_Children,_Margate_and_Westgate_College.html

 


E

Education

Advice and Information on Private Education; www.aprivateeducation.co.uk

 

Entrance Exam

Common Entrance Examination – Get The Right School (UK); www.gettherightschool.co.uk/Common-Entrance-Examination.html

What is The Common Entrance Examination? – Frequently Asked Questions; www.find-a-school.co.uk/q3.htm




F

Fees

Equity Partners UK; 01277 848666; www.equitypartnersuk.com  

Find an independent financial adviser; www.unbiased.co.uk 

School fees advice, school fees planning – UK based School Fees Advice; www.schoolfeesadvice.co.uk

Educational Trusts Forum; www.educational-grants.org

Equity Partners; www.equitypartnersuk.com

HTC (Holmwood Termtime Collections); www.htcschoolfees.co.uk/home

ISBA (Independent Schools Bursars Association); www.theisba.org.uk

Independent Schools Council; www.isc.co.uk

Moneysupermarket; www.moneysupermarket.com

Private School Fees; www.privateschools.co.uk/school_fees.htm

School Fees Charitable Trust; www.sfs-group.co.uk/charitable-trust.htm

SFIA (Independent school fees planning); www.sfia.co.uk

SFS Group; www.sfs-group.co.uk  

 


G

Gap years

Azafady; 020 8960 6629; www.madagascar.co.uk

Ethical volunteering; www.ethicalvolunteering.org

Lonely Planet; www.lonelyplanet.com/volunteer/ehtical_volunteering.cfm

Gap year, adventure travel & volunteer work abroad. Wokring holidays, gap year4 travel & jobs overseas; www.realgap.co.uk

Gap year: Volunteer abroad >> Gap year travel with Frontier; www.frontier.ac.uk/gap_year

For more information about volunteering and education opportunities in Peru please contact Quinn Meyer at quinn@crees-expeditions.com ; www.crees-expeditions.com

Guardians    

AEGIS; Tel: 01453 755160; www.aegisuk.net  Private Schools Guardianship Service; www.best-schools.co.uk/guardianship-service

White House Guardianships; Tel: 0845 8686688; www.whg.eu.com

 


H

I


J

K

L

League tables

2008 A Level results & GCSE Results | Times Online; www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/education/a_level_gcse_results

Good University Guide | University League Tables | University Rankings; www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/education/good_university_guide ; http://extras.timesonline.co.uk/tol_gug/gooduniversityguide.php

Schools, Private and Independent School League Tables; www.top-schools.co.uk

 

Learning difficulties

Mary Mountstephen MA(SEN)  is a licentiate of The Institute of Neuro-Physiological Psychology (INPP) email mem@millfieldprep.com

Workshops and training are organised nationally and internationally, and are open to parents, teachers and support staff. See also; www.movetolearn.com.au ; www.inpp.org.uk ; www.multisensoryinterventions.co.uk

 


M

 


 

N

 


 

O

Obesity

Carnegie Weight Management; Tel: 0113 812 5233; www.carnegieweightmanagement.com

Good Foods for Better Learning; http://nutrition.about.com/od/nutritionforchildren/a/dietandlearning.htm

Healthy Schools Program; www.healthiergeneration.org

National Obesity Forum; Tel: 0115 846 2109; email: info@nof.uk.com ; www.nationalobesityforum.org.uk

Obesity treatment news: Schools can help fight obesity; www.privatehealth.co.uk/news

Obesity Discussion Forum: www.obesitydiscussion.com

WellspringUK; email: icarter@wellspringcamps.com; www.wellspringcamp.co.uk


Ofsted inspection reports ; www.ofsted.gov.uk

 

Overseas

Applying to a UK Secondary School from Abroad; www.acareerbreak.co.uk/child-uk-secondary-school-abroad.html

Choosing a UK boarding school; www.gabbitas.co.uk/index.aspx?p=28

Helping Your Child Fit in Abroad – Get The Right School; www.gettherightschool.co.uk/HelpingYourChildfitinAbroad.html

Sending your child abroad to the UK for private education; www.aprivateeducation.co.uk/sending-your-child-abroad-for-private-education.html

 

Online college degrees

Online college degrees; www.online-collegedegrees.net

 


P

Private vs. public

'Both can be winners'; www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/education/article591256.ece

Netmums Coffeehouse; www.netmums.com/coffeehouse/children-parenting-190/primary-school-age-4-11-years-60/212411-private-school-vs-state.html

Practice / past papers

AQA GSCE past papers; www.aqa.org.uk/admin/qp-ms_gcse.php

Eleven plus exams, twelve plus exams & Common Entrance exams; www.learningtogether.co.uk

Eleven-plus Entrance Exams; www.satsguide.co.uk/help__other_exams_and_subjects/

OCR past paper GCSE materials; www.ocr.org.uk/pastpapermaterials/pastpapers/gcse

OCR past paper AS/A level materials; www.ocr.org.uk/pastpapermaterials/pastpapers/AS_ALevelGCE

 

Prices

Cost of Going to a Private School – Funding Education (UK); www.fundingeducation.co.uk/cost-of-private-school.html

Education Fees - The Price of Private School Fees; www.education-fees.co.uk/advice/privateschoolfees.html

UK School fees; www.emetis.com/primer/fees.htm


Q

R

Relocation

Private Schools Relocation Service; www.best-schools.co.uk/relocation-service

The Relocation Support Group; Tel: 0845 071 2250; www.relocationsupport.co.uk 

 

Reports

Ofsted home / Independent education reports; www.ofsted.gov.uk

 


S

Schoolstrader.com

School community trading online is booming and for those of you who have not yet given it a go, www.schoolstrader.com , the free-ads website for school communities, is the place to start.

Schoolstrader has a vibrant independent section covering most independent schools across the UK, including us.

Parents, staff and alumni can trade with each other free of charge - everything from musical instruments and houses to ski gear and holiday homes.

The site has appeared in The Sunday Times , as a Top 50 website in The Daily Telegraph and online in Which .

 

Specialist schools

Music and dance

Arts Educational School, Tring (dance, drama, music); www.aes-tring.com

Chetham's School of Music, Manchester; www.chethams.com

Elmhurst School for Dance, Birmingham; www.elmhurstdance.co.uk

Hammond School The, Chester (dance, music and drama); www.thehammondschool.co.uk

Purcell School for Young Musicians The, Bushey; www.purcell-school.org

Royal Ballet School, Covent Garden The, London; www.royal-ballet-school.org.uk

St Mary's Music School, Edinburgh, Scotland; www.st-marys-music-school.co.uk

Wells Cathedral School, Wells, Somerset (music); www.wells-cathedral-school.com

Yehudi Menuhin School, Cobham The, Surrey; www.yehudimenuhinschool.co.uk



Sports

Arrow Vale Community High School; www.arrowvale.worcs.sch.uk

Bishop Challoner Catholic School; www.bishopchalloner.org.uk

Cardinal Heenan Catholic High School; www.cardinalheenan.leeds.sch.uk

Chadsgrove School; www.chadsgroveschool.co.uk

Holden Lane High School; www.holdenlanehighschool.co.uk

King’s Manor School; www.kingsmanor.org.uk

Pensby High School for boys; www.pensbysportscollege.wirral.sch.uk

St Philip Howard; www.st-philiphoward.w-sussex.sch.uk

Streetly School; www.streetly.walsall.sch.uk



Rugby schools

Bolton School Boys’ Division Senior School, including Sixth Form; www.boltonschool.org/SeniorBoys/News/SchoolWinsRugbyAward

 

Scholarships

Private School Scholarships; www.emetis.com/primer/scholarships.htm

Scholarships for Private Independent Schools – Get The Right School (UK); www.gettherightschool.co.uk/ScholarshipsForPrivateIndependentSchools.html

 

Single sex

Single Sex Education – The Advantages; http://privateschool.about.com/cs/choosingaschool/a/singlesex.htm

Single Sex or Coeducation? Private School Review; http://www.privateschoolreview.com/articles/32

Single sex or Co-ed – ISN – Independent Education Trends ’09; www.independentschools.com

 


T

Teacher training

Find out more about how to become a teacher at www.tda.gov.uk

Graduate Teacher Training Registry; GTTR; www.gttr.ac.uk

Initial Teacher Education & Training in Wales; www.teachertrainingwales.org

Independent Private Schools – Independent Schools Council; www.isc.co.uk/TeachingZone

 

Teacher zone

Private school Jobs, Employment and Recruitment; www.privateschools.co.uk/jobs.htm

 

Tuition

Explore Learning | Maths and English Tuition | Inspiring Tutors; www.explorelearning.ltd.uk

Private tutors; www.alphatutors.co.uk

Private Tutors, Private Tuition and Home Tutors in UK; www.uktutors.com

 


U

Uniform

Uniforms, School Wear, Girls School Uniform, Boys School Uniform; www.schooluniform247.co.uk/

School Uniforms and Financial Hel – Get The Right School (UK); www.gettherightschool.co.uk/SchoolUniformsandFinancialHelp.html

 


V

 


 

W

Web directories

juliawebdirectory; www.juliawebdirectory.com

<a href="http://www.juliawebdirectory.com">Julia Web Directory</a><br>Submit your web site link to general SEO friendly web directory to improve rankings and generate traffic. Read articles and news about internet marketing.

Onewaytextlink.com

http://www.pmi.edu/careers/online_health_care_administration.asp

<a href="http://www.pmi.edu/careers/online_health_care_administration.asp">Health care administration classes online</a>

 


 

X

 


 

Y

 


 

Z

 


 

Back to top